How is the Zoo governed?

The Saint Louis Zoo is legally classified as a tax-supported political subdistrict of the State of Missouri. Essentially, the Zoo is a government agency and has restrictions on how it raises and spends money. The Zoo also has a nonprofit partner, the Saint Louis Zoo Association, dedicated to raising funds in support of the Zoo's mission.  

  • The Missouri State Legislature established the Zoo Subdistrict Commission as the Zoo's governing authority. Five members of the Commission reside in the City and five members reside in the County. The Commission has the fiduciary and management responsibility for the well-being of the Zoo. 

  • The Association is a private nonprofit organization whose volunteer board is made up of business and community leaders. They work with the Zoo to provide leadership for fundraising, and they support conservation education, programming, facilities, government relations and special events.

Saint Louis Zoo Executive Staff

  • Dwight Scott, Dana Brown President & CEO
  • Michael Macek, B.S., MBA, Saint Louis Zoo Director
  • Jo-Elle Mogerman, Ph.D., Saint Louis Zoo WildCare Park Director
  • Cassandra J. Brown Ray, CPA, MBAVice President, Finance, and CFO
  • Dustin Deschamp, J.D., Vice President, Internal Relations & General Counsel
  • David McGuire, AIA, William Bernoudy Vice President, Architecture & Planning and Chief Architect
  • Jim Madison, Vice President, Business Operations
  • Andrew Marti, Director, Facilities Management
  • Billy Brennan, MA, Director, Public Relations & Government Affairs
  • Kirby Meyer, MA, Director, Marketing
  • Rory James, MPH, Director, Diversity, Equity, Accessibility & Inclusion

Read their biographies